Geology and Geosciences

Photo of rocky mountain

Geology includes the study of the earth’s crust, its structure, the chemical composition and the physical properties of its components. Rock formations are located within the crust, their formation is studied and measurement is made of the forces that create, bend and shape mountains, basins, faults, volcanoes and earthquakes. Geology also examines the erosion of rocks and the deposition of the loose materials. It also reveals the physical history of the Earth.

List of Topics:

Rocks

Geological Provinces

The geologic time scale divides the 4.6 billion years of earths history into hierarchy of time periods. Every layer of rock corresponds to a specific time in the history of the formation of the Earth. The Precambrian era began with the formation of the Earth; it was followed by the Paleozoic, Mesozoic, and Cenozoic eras. Each of these eras is divided into periods, the periods into epochs, and epochs into ages. Paleontological studies and isotopic dating methods are used to determine the time divisions. View more details on GeoGratis.

Geological Provinces

Age of Rocks

The geologic time scale divides the 4.6 billion years of earths history into hierarchy of time periods. Every layer of rock corresponds to a specific time in the history of the formation of the Earth. The Precambrian era began with the formation of the Earth; it was followed by the Paleozoic, Mesozoic, and Cenozoic eras. Each of these eras is divided into periods, the periods into epochs, and epochs into ages. Paleontological studies and isotopic dating methods are used to determine the time divisions. View more details on GeoGratis.

Age of Rocks

Canadian Geochronology Knowledgebase

The compilation represents publicly available geochronological information for Canada, with data compiled from federal, provincial and territorial government publications and reports, university theses, books and journal articles.

Major Rock Categories

Rocks are divided into three main categories according to how they were formed: igneous, sedimentary or metamorphic processes. Rocks differ in their texture, mineral and chemical composition, and bedding characteristics depending on which of these three processes that formed them. Igneous rocks, which are also referred to as magmatic rocks, are formed from materials that come from the depths of the Earth. There are two categories of igneous rocks: intrusive (or plutonic) rocks and volcanic rocks. Sedimentary rocks are the product of the consolidation of loose sediment that has accumulated in beds. A metamorphic rock is derived from a pre-existing igneous or sedimentary rock that is transformed, to a greater or lesser degree, by the action of physical factors such as temperature and pressure, or chemical factors that include the addition of new minerals. View more details on GeoGratis.

Major Rock Categories

Location of Kimberlites (1997)

Kimberlites are rock formation where diamonds can be found. Diamonds form at a depth greater than 150 kilometres within the earth. After their formation, diamonds are carried to the surface of the earth by strong volcanic activity. This mixture of magma, transported rock and diamonds forms pipes called kimberlites as it reaches the surface. View more details on GeoGratis.

Location of Kimberlites (1997)

Geology

Contained within the 4th Edition (1974) of the Atlas of Canada is a map showing geological age and lithology accompanied by a supplementary map at a scale of 1:50 500 000, displaying geological provinces. View more details on GeoGratis.

Geology

Surficial Materials and Glaciation

Surficial Materials

Most unconsolidated materials covering the Canadian landmass have glacial origins. Some sediments were entrained by glaciers and deposited at a distance without being sorted. Other sediments were picked up and reworked by glacial melt water, or transported and deposited by river or wind action. Some sediments are organic or volcanic in origin. Sediments are classified according to the manner in which they were transported and deposited. View more details on GeoGratis.

Surficial Materials

Glacier Retreat

Contained within the 4th Edition (1974) of the Atlas of Canada is a map that shows the successive stages in the retreat of the last ice sheet in North America in respect to coverage of the Canadian landmass. Included with the map are the speculative ice-marginal positions with approximate time in years before present and present day ice cover which is denoted as well as areas which were unglaciated during the last glaciation period. View more details on GeoGratis.

Glacier Retreat

Post-Glacial Rebound

Contained within the 4th Edition (1974) of the Atlas of Canada is a set of two maps. One shows the maximum post-glacial marine limit in feet above present sea level and the second shows the maximum height of post-glacial rebound in feet above present sea level. Both maps show existing glaciers and are accompanied by a detailed text providing background information on the post-glacial marine limit, post-glacial rebound and the production of these two maps. View more details on GeoGratis.

Post-Glacial Rebound

Land

Physiographic Regions

Canada’s landscape is very diversified and comprises several distinctive areas, called physiographic regions, each of which has its own topography and geology. The physical geography of Canada comprises two great parts: the Shield and the Borderlands. The Shield consists of a core of old, massive, Precambrian crystalline rocks. The Borderlands areas are formed by younger rocks and surround the Shield like two rings. The inner ring comprises a chain of lowlands, plains and plateaus of generally flat-lying sedimentary rocks. The outer ring consists of discontinuous areas of mountains and plateaus in which the younger rocks are deformed. Each of these areas is divided into regions, each of which comprises many smaller subdivisions that are distinctive based on their topography and geology. This map shows the location of these physiographic regions. View more details on GeoGratis.

Physiographic Regions

Permafrost

Permafrost occurs when the ground remains at or below a temperature of 0oC for a minimum period of two years. Permafrost occurs not only at high latitudes but also at high altitudes. Almost all of the soil moisture in permafrost occurs in the form of ground ice, which in turn occurs in several different forms. The quantity of ice in the ground varies widely. Permafrost and ground ice have had significant effects on the economic development of the North. It affects the energy and mining industries, as well as the construction of modern settlements and infrastructure elements such as roads, railways, airfields, and utilities. View more details on GeoGratis.

Permafrost

Natural Hazards

Significant Earthquakes and Seismic Hazard

An earthquake is the rapid shaking of the Earth’s surface that follows the sudden release of energy within the Earth. They are most commonly caused by movements along the edges of the plates that make up the Earth’s crust. Each year, more than 3500 mostly small earthquakes are recorded in or near Canada, 50 of which can be felt. More than half of all the earthquakes in Canada occur along the west coast. There is also scattered activity in southeastern Canada and in the Arctic. The size of an earthquake is measured on a magnitude scale, and its intensity is measured on the Modified Mercalli Scale. This map shows the most significant earthquakes recorded in Canada to 2006. View more details on GeoGratis.

Significant Earthquakes and Seismic Hazard

Major Volcanoes

There are many geologically active volcanoes along the Canadian Cordillera in British Columbia and the Yukon. Recurrent earthquakes below our feet and gigantic mountain ranges rising majestically upward remind us that this part of Canada is geologically active. The possibility of an eruption, even a large explosive one, cannot be ruled out. The map shows the major volcanoes and areas with significant accumulation of volcanic ash. View more details on GeoGratis.

Major Volcanoes

Space Weather - Geomagnetic Activity Zones

The magnetic field of the Earth is influenced by the electromagnetic environment of the solar system. The disturbed interplanetary environment changes the conditions of the natural electromagnetic environment of our planet and affects normal operation of space and ground technological infrastructures, such as power grids and pipelines.Geomagnetic activity can be described by the sizes of the disturbances in the Earth magnetic field and how often they occur. Geomagnetic activity depends on the geographic location of the observing point. It is defined by the geometry of the Earth’s geomagnetic field and its interaction with both the charged particles produced by the Sun and the solar/interplanetary magnetic field fluctuations. Canadian territory covers three zones of geomagnetic activity: the polar cap (north of Cambridge Bay), the auroral zone (between Cambridge Bay and Meanook) and the subauroral zone (south of Meanook). The highest geomagnetic activity is observed in the auroral zone. View more details on GeoGratis.

Space Weather - Geomagnetic Activity Zones

Space Weather - Telluric Activity Zones

The magnetic field of the Earth is influenced by the electromagnetic environment of the solar system. The disturbed interplanetary environment changes the conditions of the natural electromagnetic environment of our planet and affects normal operation of space and ground technological infrastructures, such as power grids and pipelines. The geomagnetically induced currents that directly affect vulnerable infrastructure are driven by the geoelectric (telluric) field. Therefore, the most important task in space weather hazard mapping is to identify the areas with different levels of telluric activity. On the map, telluric activity is defined as the annual percentage of the time when variations in the activity is above the normal level of 20 milliVolts per kilometre. Elevated telluric activity occurrs for a quarter of the year in the auroral zone, whereas it varies from 15 percent (4.5 times per month) down to just a few percent (1 occurrence per two months) in the Prairies. It is interesting to note that most of the big cities in Canada, and therefore much of the infrastructure, are in the least tellurically active zone (less than 10 percent). View more details on GeoGratis.

Space Weather - Telluric Activity Zones

Major Landslides Causing Fatalities

Landslides are the downslope movements of sediment and rock. They can be found in any part of Canada, even in areas with very little relief. They happen in bedrock or in loose sediment, on land or under water. They can be large or small, rapid or slow, and generally occur without warning. This map depicts 45 landslides in Canada that have resulted in more than 600 fatalities in historical times (1840 - 2006). View more details on GeoGratis.

Major Landslides Causing Fatalities

Tsunamis

A tsunami is a sea wave or series of waves produced by large disturbances of the sea floor that are of relatively short duration. Such disturbances cause the water column to move vertically and the resulting wave energy to spread outwards across the ocean surface at high speed. Although tsunami occurrences in Canada are rare, they do occur and can cause major damage and loss of life. Since the beginning of the twentieth century, there has been one tsunami reported about every fifteen to twenty years in Canada. This map shows the location of the major tsunami events in Canada including earthquake and landslide events that triggered tsunamis. View more details on GeoGratis.

Tsunamis

Tectonics

Contained within the 4th Edition (1974) of the Atlas of Canada is a map that shows geologic structural features and denotes tectonic elements by a color-coding system. There are also descriptive elements and features of tectonic elements which are displayed. View more details on GeoGratis.

Tectonics

Earthquakes, Magnetism and Tides

Contained within the 3rd Edition (1957) of the Atlas of Canada is a plate that shows maps of earthquakes, magnetism and tides across Canada. The two larger upper maps on this plate show geomagnetism. Since the North Magnetic Pole is in a different position from the Geographical North Pole, and the lines of the earths magnetic forces are deflected by various agencies, the compass needle does not point toward the Geographical North Pole in most locations. The deflection of the compass needle from True North is called magnetic variation or declination. Thus, for example, where variation is west, north as indicated by the compass needle is west of True North by the number of degrees marked on the isogones, as illustrated by the upper left map on this plate. The upper right map indicates the average annual change of magnetic variation in minutes. The small inset map at the top of this plate, entitled Earthquake Probability, shows the damage which may result from earthquakes occurring in different parts of the country. The zones are graded from 0, where such earthquakes are likely to do no damage, to 3, where earthquakes are likely to do major damage. The small-type numbers indicate the magnitude of some recorded earthquakes. The index of magnitude is related to energy released rather than the damage done. A magnitude 5.6 is considered as the threshold at which damage begins. The four lower maps on this plate show co-tidal and co-range lines for/from the semi-diurnal and diurnal tides. A co-tidal line indicates the position of the crest of the tidal undulation at a given time. The hours marked on these lines are intervals in lunar time from that instant when the moon crosses the Greenwich meridian. A co-range line indicates the difference in level between the crest and the trough of the undulation. View more details on GeoGratis.

Earthquakes, Magnetism and Tides

Géologie et Géosciences

Image d'un rocher

La géologie est l’étude de la croûte terrestre, de sa structure ainsi que de la composition chimique et des propriétés physiques de ses composantes. Les géologues décryptent la formation des roches dans la croûte et analysent les forces qui soulèvent et sculptent les montagnes, façonnent les bassins, causent les failles, les volcans et les tremblements de terre. La géologie s’intéresse également aux processus d’érosion et de sédimentation. Elle reconstitue également l’histoire physique de la Terre.

Liste de sujets :

Roches

Provinces géologiques

Une province géologique est une grande région qui possède ses propres caractéristiques, différentes de celles des régions adjacentes. On entend par bouclier une grande étendue constituée de roches très anciennes, nivelées par l'érosion. Une plate-forme est une partie du continent recouverte par une couche de roche plate ou légèrement inclinée. La partie recouverte est composée de roches très anciennes, consolidées lors de déformations antérieures au dépôt de la couche de roche supérieure. Cette dernière est habituellement constituée de roche sédimentaire. Les orogènes sont les parties du continent dont l'écorce terrestre a subi des mouvements pour ainsi créer les chaînes de montagnes. Enfin, les plateaux continentaux (ou plates-formes continentales) sont le prolongement du continent sous l'océan, caractérisés par une pente très douce et s'étendant à des profondeurs généralement inférieures à 200 mètres, suivie d'une pente abrupte jusqu'au plancher océanique. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Provinces géologiques

Âge des roches

L'échelle de temps géologique divise les 4,6 milliards d'années de l'histoire de la Terre en une hiérarchie de périodes temporelles. Chaque couche de roche correspond à une période de temps précise de l'histoire de l'évolution terrestre. L'ère précambrienne commence avec la formation de la Terre; elle est suivie des ères paléozoïque, mésozoïque et cénozoïque. Chacune de ces ères est divisée en périodes, celles-ci sont divisées en époques et ces dernières en âges. Afin de déterminer ces divisions chronologiques, on a recours aux études paléontologiques et aux méthodes de datation isotopique. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Âge des roches

Base nationale des données géochronologiques

Cette compilation est composée d'information géochronologique pour le Canada auxquel le public a accès, provenant de références bibliographiques incluant des publications et rapports du gouvernement fédéral, des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, de thèses universitaires, livres et journaux scientifiques.

Catégories lithologiques principales

Les roches se divisent en trois catégories principales selon leur mode de formation : on distingue ainsi les processus ignés, sédimentaires et métamorphiques. Les roches sont dissemblables par la texture, la composition minérale et chimique et les caractéristiques de leur litage, suivant qu'elles ont été formées par tel ou tel de ces processus. Les roches éruptives, que l’on appelle aussi roches magmatiques ou ignées, sont formées de matière provenant des profondeurs de la Terre. On divise les roches éruptives en deux catégories, soit les roches intrusives ou plutoniques, et les roches volcaniques. Les roches sédimentaires résultent de la consolidation de sédiments meubles accumulés en couches. Les roches métamorphiques résultent de la transformation, plus ou moins grande, d’une roche éruptive ou sédimentaire, sous l’action de facteurs physiques, comme la température et la pression, ou de facteurs chimiques, comme l’apport de minéraux différents. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Catégories lithologiques principales

Distribution des kimberlites (1997)

Les kimberlites sont des formations rocheuses renfermant des diamants. Les diamants sont formés à une profondeur supérieure à 150 kilomètres sous la surface de la terre. Ils sont par la suite entraînés à la surface terrestre par une forte activité volcanique. Le mélange ainsi formé de magma, de roches transportées et de diamants forme des pipes nommées kimberlites en surface. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Distribution des kimberlites (1997)

Géologie

La 4e édition de l'Atlas national du Canada (1974) contient une carte géologique montrant l’âge et la lithologie accompagnée d’une carte supplémentaire à une échelle de 1/50 500 000 montrant les provinces géologiques. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Géologie

Matériaux superficiels et glaciation

Matériaux superficiels

La plupart des matériaux non consolidés recouvrant la masse continentale canadienne sont d'origine glaciaire; ils ont été déposés pendant la dernière glaciation, lorsque les glaciers ont emporté ou enfoui des dépôts antérieurs. Certains sédiments ont été emportés par des glaciers et déposés à quelque distance sans avoir été triés. D'autres sédiments ont été emportés et remaniés par des eaux de fonte glaciaire ou transportés et déposés par l'action fluviatile ou éolienne. Certains sédiments sont d'origine organique ou volcanique. Les sédiments sont classifiés selon leur mode de transport et de dépôt. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Matériaux superficiels

Recul des glaciers

La 4e édition de l'Atlas national du Canada (1974) contient une carte montrant les étapes successives du recul du dernier inlandsis en Amérique du Nord et plus particulièrement la manière dont ce recul s’est effectué sur la partie continentale du Canada. Cette carte indique des positions théoriques de la périphérie glaciaire, une date approximative (en années avant le présent), la couverture glaciaire actuelle et les étendues non recouvertes par la glace pendant la dernière glaciation. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Recul des glaciers

Rebondissement post-glaciaire

La 4e édition de l'Atlas national du Canada (1974) contient un jeu de deux cartes sur le relèvement post-glaciaire. L’une montre la limite marine maximale post-glaciaire et l’autre l’altitude la plus élevée du relèvement post-glaciaire ; toutes deux en pieds au-dessus du niveau actuel de la mer. Les deux cartes montrent les glaciers existants et sont accompagnées d’un texte détaillé fournissant de l’information de référence sur la limite marine post-glaciaire, le relèvement post-glaciaire et la production de ces deux cartes. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Rebondissement post-glaciaire

Les terres

Régions physiographiques

Les paysages canadiens sont très variés. Ils comprennent plusieurs régions distinctes dont chacune présente ses propres caractéristiques topographiques et géologiques. La géographie physique du Canada se divise en deux vastes secteurs : le Bouclier et les régions en bordure du Bouclier. Le Bouclier est constitué d'un noyau d'anciennes roches cristallines datant du Précambrien. Le secteur constituant les régions en bordure du Bouclier est formé de roches plus récentes qui se répartissent sous la forme de deux anneaux. L'anneau intérieur comprend une succession de basses-terres, de plaines et de plateaux, recouverts de roches sédimentaires. L'anneau extérieur est formé de régions discontinues de montagnes et de plateaux dont les roches sont plus récentes et déformées. Chacune de ces régions comprend plusieurs subdivisions qui se distinguent par leur topographie et leur géologie. Cette carte montre la localisation de ces différentes régions que l’on nomme régions physiographiques. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Régions physiographiques

Pergélisol

Il y a formation de pergélisol lorsque le sol reste à une température égale ou inférieure à 0°C pendant une période minimale de 2 ans. Le pergélisol est présent non seulement en haute latitude, mais également à haute altitude. Dans le pergélisol, la quasi-totalité de l'humidité dans le sol est présente sous forme de glace souterraine, qui apparaît sous des formes diverses. La quantité de glace dans le sol est très variable. Le pergélisol et la glace souterraine ont profondément influé sur le développement économique du Nord, agissant ainsi sur les industries énergétique et minière de même que sur la construction d'agglomérations des peuplements modernes et d'éléments d'infrastructure tels que routes, chemins de fer, terrains d'aviation et services d'utilité publique. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Pergélisol

Catastrophes naturelles

Principaux tremblements de terre et aléas sismiques

Un tremblement de terre consiste en une rapide secousse de l’écorce terrestre qui résulte d’une soudaine libération d’énergie dans la Terre. En général, ce phénomène est attribuable à des déplacements en marge des plaques tectoniques qui constituent l’écorce terrestre. À tous les ans, plus de 3500 tremblements de terre sont enregistrés au Canada ou près du pays, dont 50 perceptibles. Plus de la moitié des séismes au Canada surviennent le long de la côte Ouest. Le Sud-Est du pays et l’Arctique canadien connaissent aussi une activité sismique dispersée. L’importance d’un tremblement de terre est mesurée sur une échelle de magnitude et son intensité, sur l’échelle de Mercalli modifiée. Cette carte montre les principaux tremblements de terre enregistrés au Canada à 2006. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Principaux tremblements de terre et aléas sismiques

Principaux volcans

Tout le long de la Cordillère de la Colombie-Britannique et du Yukon, un grand nombre de volcans restent actifs du point de vue de la géologie. Des séismes récurrents sous nos pieds et de gigantesques et majestueuses montagnes nous rappellent que cette région du Canada est géologiquement active. La possibilité d’une éruption, et même d’une grosse éruption explosive, ne peut être écartée. La carte montre les principaux volcans et les zones où il y a eu d’importantes accumulations de cendres volcaniques. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Principaux volcans

Météo spatiale - Zones d’activité géomagnétique

Le champ géomagnétique subit l’influence de l’environnement électromagnétique du système solaire. Les perturbations du milieu interplanétaire modifient les conditions de l’environnement électromagnétique naturel de notre planète, affectant ainsi le fonctionnement normal de l’infrastructure spatiale et des technologies au sol, par exemple les réseaux de distribution d’électricité et les pipelines. L’activité géomagnétique, ou la fréquence des variations du champ géomagnétique, varie selon la position géographique de l’observateur. Elle dépend de la géométrie du champ magnétique terrestre et de son interaction avec les particules chargées émises par le Soleil et les fluctuations du champ magnétique solaire ou interplanétaire. Le territoire canadien comporte trois zones d’activité géomagnétique : la calotte polaire (au nord de Cambridge Bay), la zone aurorale (entre Cambridge Bay et Meanook) et la zone sous aurorale (au sud de Meanook). C’est dans la zone aurorale que l’on observe l’activité géomagnétique la plus intense. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Météo spatiale - Zones d’activité géomagnétique

Météo spatiale - Activité tellurique

Le champ géomagnétique subit l’influence de l’environnement électromagnétique du système solaire. Les perturbations du milieu interplanétaire modifient les conditions de l’environnement électromagnétique naturel de notre planète, affectant ainsi le fonctionnement normal de l’infrastructure spatiale et des technologies au sol, par exemple les réseaux de distribution d’électricité et les pipelines. Les courants qui nuisent directement aux infrastructures vulnérables sont dictés par le champ géoélectrique (tellurique), lui-même induit par le champ géomagnétique. Ainsi, l’information la plus importante d’une carte des risques dus à la météo spatiale est la définition des zones présentant les différents niveaux d’activité tellurique. Sur la carte, l’activité tellurique est définie comme le pourcentage du temps sur une année où les variations de l’activité dépassent le niveau normal de 20 millivolts au kilomètre. Dans la zone aurorale, l’activité tellurique est élevée pendant le quart de l’année, alors que dans les Prairies, elle tombe de 15 pourcent (quatre fois et demie par mois) jusqu’à quelques points de pourcentage (un événement à tous les deux mois). Il est intéressant de noter que la plupart des grandes villes canadiennes, donc la plus grande portion des infrastructures a été construite dans les zones où l’activité tellurique est la plus basse (moins de 10 pourcent). Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Météo spatiale - Activité tellurique

Principaux glissements de terrain causant des accidents mortels

Un glissement de terrain est le déplacement vers le bas de matériaux géologiques sur un versant. Des glissements de terrain peuvent être observés dans toutes les régions du Canada, même aux endroits où il y a très peu de relief. Ils peuvent se produire dans le substratum rocheux ou dans des sédiments meubles, sur terre ou sous l’eau. Ils peuvent être gros ou petits, rapides ou lents et ils surviennent habituellement sans avertir. La carte représente 45 glissements de terrain survenus au Canada entre 1840 et 2006 et faisant plus de 600 victimes. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Principaux glissements de terrain causant des accidents mortels

Tsunamis

Un tsunami est une vague océanique ou une série de vagues produites par d’importantes perturbations du plancher océanique dans un laps de temps relativement court. Ces perturbations provoquent le déplacement vertical de la colonne d’eau et l’énergie de la vague soulevée se répand à la surface de l’océan à grande vitesse. Bien que les tsunamis soient assez rares au Canada, ils se produisent à l’occasion et peuvent causer des dégâts considérables et entraîner des pertes de vie. Depuis le début du vingtième siècle, on a rapporté un tsunami environ tous les quinze à vingt ans au Canada. Cette carte montre les sites où sont survenus les plus importants tsunamis au Canada ainsi que les séismes et les glissements de terrain qui ont causé un tsunami. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Tsunamis

Tectonique

La 4e édition de l'Atlas national du Canada (1974) contient une carte montrant des entités de la structure géologique et sur laquelle sont représentés des éléments tectoniques au moyen d’un système de codage en couleurs. D’autres éléments descriptifs et caractéristiques des éléments tectoniques sont également représentés. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Tectonique

Séismes, magnétisme et marées

La 3e édition de l’Atlas du Canada (1957) contient une planche comportant des cartes sur les séismes, le magnétisme et les marées au Canada. Les deux plus grandes cartes, en haut, représentent le géomagnétisme. Comme le pôle Nord magnétique ne coïncide pas avec le pôle Nord géographique et que les lignes des forces magnétiques terrestres sont déviées sous l’influence de divers agents, l’aiguille aimantée ne pointe pas vers le pôle Nord géographique dans la plupart des endroits. La déviation de l’aiguille aimantée du nord vrai s’appelle variation ou déclinaison magnétique. Ainsi, lorsque cette variation se fait vers l’ouest, par exemple, le Nord indiqué par l’aiguille aimantée se trouve à l’ouest du Nord géographique à autant de degrés que l’indiquent les isogones, tel que représenté sur la carte dans le coin supérieur gauche de cette planche. La carte en haut à droite montre en minutes les changements moyens annuels de la variation magnétique. Le petit carton intérieur en haut de la planche, intitulé « Probabilités séismiques » montre les ravages que peuvent causer les tremblements de terre à différents endroits du pays. On compte trois zones, de 0 à 3, le chiffre 0 signifiant que les séismes ne causeront vraisemblablement aucun dommage tandis que 3 indique que les tremblements de terre peuvent causer des dommages considérables. Les chiffres en petits caractères désignent l’intensité de quelques tremblements de terre enregistrés. L’indice de magnitude se rapporte à l’énergie engendrée plutôt qu’aux ravages causés. Une magnitude de 5,6 représente le seuil auquel les dommages commencent. Les quatre cartes dans la partie inférieure de cette planche indiquent les lignes cotidales et les lignes de co-amplitude qui représentent le mouvement des marées semi-diurnes et diurnes. La ligne cotidale marque la position du sommet de l’onde de marée à un moment précis. On a indiqué sur ces lignes l’heure des intervalles en temps lunaire à compter du moment où la lune croise le méridien de Greenwich. La ligne de co-amplitude indique la différence de niveau entre le sommet et le creux de l’ondulation. Voir plus de détails sur le site GéoGratis.

Séismes, magnétisme et marées